Need Advice on how to go about Raising Pigs Please

Discussion in 'Beginners Forum' started by grandcamel, Sep 7, 2014.

1. grandcamel

grandcamel New Member

Hello everyone,

I am new to pigs(obviously:D) and I have one question for those of you who know more than I do about this. I have two separate pens for them by the way. Would it be better to buy some feeder piglets and raise them up and sell at butcher weight? Or get a couple sows and breed them? I am looking to maybe make a small profit off of this, if they at least pay for themselves I'll be perfectly happy with that as I've heard they're also a joy to own. Any and all advice is welcome!

2. GaryFrank

GaryFrank New Member

Starting off

I'm new to the forum but did the pig thing a couple of years ago......

The first thing you have to do is source your feed.

I am a process engineer and design and build turnkey plants (dairy - milk, cheese, yogurt, fruit juices, ice-cream, fruit and veg processing and pulping, potato chips/crisps, bread, etc....basically all kinds of food stuff) I drew up contracts with most of my customers in that I would be responsible for the disposal of all their waste and returned product.

I then purchased 20 piglets from a local breeder and let them run around in a large open camp .....kinda "free range" (castrated all the males first)

I kept them for about 6 months and only fed them what ever I got from my customers. I then sold off all the males and purchased a 1 year old boar from another breeder and let him loose in the camp.